Kearns and Sons RS Aesthetics

A lot of interest in Local Government Study Commissions


The local Government Study Commission being formed to review the structure and functioning of the Ravalli County government has drawn 19 candidates interested in filling the five positions on the committee.

One issue that is bound to come up for consideration by the commission is the question of possibly reducing the number of commission seats from five to three. The County Commissioners themselves tried to place the issue on the ballot by resolution and would have except for the fact that they did not hold their first meeting on the topic in time to fulfill all the requirements of the public process to do it. It requires two public hearings at least 12 days apart and there was not enough time before the deadline for placing an issue on the ballot to get it done.

The study commission will examine most every aspect of the local government, however, and make recommendations for changes if they are determined to be needed or wanted by the public. All the commission meetings are open to the public.

Candidates for the County’s five-member Local Government Study Commission include: Gary K. Carlson, John W. Robinson, Alan Thompson, Lee J. Tickell, Marilee Schockley, David S. Hurtt, Bill Menager, John Meakin, Ren Cleveland, Trish Foster, Sharon L. Schroeder, Jane M. Ellis, George H. Corn, Terry Nelson, Scott Boulanger, Dale Lewis, Chris Taggart, Michael R. Kent, and Ronald E. Stoker.

Candidatesfor the City of Hamilton’s three-member Local Government Study Commission include: Lynette G. Helgeland, Derrell Poole, Robert Smaus, and Melvin H. Monson.

There are no comments yet. Be the first and leave a response!

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?