Kearns and Sons RS Aesthetics

Hamilton school levy approved by voters

By Michael Howell

According to unofficial results the Hamilton School’s general fund levy of $485,000 was passed by a vote of 1,292 in favor to 1,122 against. School officials worked hard on presenting the plan to spend the money on a number of programmatic improvements as well as general operations. About $175,000 will go to the Career Pathways Program, $45,000 to the Performing Arts Program, $40,000 to Community Facility Rentals Program, another $40,000 to High School and Middle School fee reductions, $25,000 to the Keystone Program and the remaining $160,000 will go to ongoing general expenses.

Hamilton School Superintendent Tom Korst was “grateful” for the community support and the opportunities that it affords.

“We hope to make the most of it,” he said. He said being specific about their aims and honest in their appraisal of the needs probably helped the community make up its mind. He said the Board of Trustees would begin going over each item and articulate a plan of action at the next Board meeting. He said he was pleased at the growing connection the school has with the Bitterroot College. He said the Board would also work on prioritizing the needed maintenance projects “which are close to overwhelming.”

“It’s exciting. I’m grateful to the community and I want to handle these funds with care and diligence,” he said.

Two three-year terms on the school Board will be filled by top vote getters incumbent Jim Shea with 1,243 votes and Elke Olbricht with 1,114 votes.  Incumbent Lee Tickell got 907 votes and 37 votes went to the write-in candidate.

Darby School District filled one trustee position with a three-year term with Christina Harrell who received 394 votes defeating incumbent Coby Smith who garnered 328 votes.

In the Corvallis School District, three trustee positions were filled by acclamation by Ginny Hoffman, Adam Sangster and Dan Wolsky.

Victor School District filled two trustee positions by acclamation with Chris Bishop and Marci Smith.

Stevensville School District filled two positions by acclamation with Rodger Bardsley and Dawn Shinn.

The Lone Rock School’s general fund levy was defeated with only 179 voting in favor and 273 against. Two Trustee positions were filled by acclamation by Nancy Preston and Gary Leese.

The Florence –Carlton School District will fill two trustee positions. The unofficial election results show Jay Dixon with 828 votes and Tara Zeiler with 8111 votes at the top followed by Vickie Cornish with 803 and Dorothy Rhodes with 628. Election official caution that some votes remained uncounted due questions about the signature that may be resolved by the voters casting the ballots and could change the outcome of a close election like this one.

There are no comments yet. Be the first and leave a response!

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?