Kearns and Sons RS Aesthetics

County completes re-districting


By Michael Howell

Every ten years a legislative committee re-assesses House and Senate Districts. This process was completed on February 12 and each county has 45 days to set new precinct boundaries. Ravalli County Clerk and Recorder Regina Plettenberg said her office completed the new district map last Wednesday.

The number of voting precincts in the county grew from 22 to 24. According to Plettenberg, the aim was to equalize the precincts as much as possible in terms of population. She said the target population for each district was 1,500 to 2,000. All but four or five fall within that range, she said. A few districts in the Sula, Darby and Charlos Heights area were combined, reducing the number of precincts from five to three. But four districts were added in the Corvallis, Hamilton and Stevensville areas. Plettenberg said that she consulted both political parties and they were happy with the changes.

Plettenberg said that Ravalli County did not share any House or Senate Districts with any other county. Ravalli County has four House Districts and two Senate Districts. The area covered by some of the districts has changed. Pinesdale is now included with Victor. Victor was combined with Sula in the past. The Corvallis District has expanded northward.

Polling places have not been set yet.

There are no comments yet. Be the first and leave a response!

Leave a Reply

Wanting to leave an <em>phasis on your comment?